One Day Closer to Summer

We felt our first cold day this past week. The temps dropped and during the night it got down to 28 degrees. We finally turned on the heat.

I am not a fan of winter. But I’ve decided I am not going to complain. I am going to remember that each day brings me closer to my favorite time of the year…summer.

Winter makes me want to crawl in bed, pull the covers over my head and sleep. The days are short so my momentum to get things accomplished seems to be buried in the snow (or ice) or just blown away by the cold winds. The grey skies bring out the blues in me and I must have some level of SAD (seasonal affective disorder) because I have this same struggle at the same time every year.

So this year I have decided that I will embrace the winter even though I will never enjoy it like my husband does. I will run to keep my endorphins up, embrace the sun on days that it does peak through and mostly look forward to summer by knowing that each day is one step closer to my favorite time of the year.

It’s a bit like my Christian walk. Some seasons I am walking along and everything is great. The sun is shining, the days are long, and spending time with people, even the messy ones, is not difficult. It’s even easy to exercise and eat healthy because there are more fresh fruits and vegetables. Feasting on the word during this time is a joy because the words come alive and there is much understanding.

But then something happens. It not a “bad” something. Just things stop going right or I get complacent. The grey skies move in, the winds get colder. It gets tough to deal with the troublemakers or those who refuse to do anything about their problems but wallow in them. I forget to feast on the solid food of the Word and only take in a morsel here or there, enough to make me “feel better” for a moment or two. I stop exercising my soul

I have learned, however, to recognize these times (with a little help from my husband) and to take a few steps. Even with the cold winds, I put on my running shoes and warmer clothing and run the race that is set before me with diligence and perseverance, without wavering. This means that I continue to pray, even for those who annoy me. I continue to read the Word daily and not only ingest it but savor it and let it move me to action. I find that as I take one more step each day, the sweetness comes back and the fog moves out.

It is still winter, and only the beginning, but I can feel comfort that with each step I am One Day Closer to Summer.

2 thoughts on “One Day Closer to Summer

Leave a Reply

