Clarity at 3 AM

It’s 3 AM and I can’t sleep.  My daughter woke me up because she was in pain from having her wisdom teeth taken out. I got her some medication and she went right back to sleep. But between neighbors dogs barking outside, my husband occasional night sounds, and the constant barrage of thoughts about all the things I need to do, I finally gave up and wondered into my office.

This rarely happens to me. I sleep often and early and as long as I can each day. On the few occasions that it has happened, I usually just wander into the living room, turn on the TV low and watch some mindless sitcom rerun. But not tonight. We moved all the furniture out of our living room because tomorrow a new couch is being delivered so I have nowhere to sit.

I wandered into my newly created office. This room has been my son’s bedroom, then the TV room where teens hung out watching movies and eating pizza. Now, it has become my home office. I still have the building downtown but with the recent changes, I don’t need to be there every day so I have created my own little space. I am not use to it yet but it may grow on me.

This is just one of the many changes B&B has gone through this past year.

Because of all these changes, next week Rick, Diane and I are going to spend a couple of days with Fred. I call him my clarity coach. Fred and Hermann are friends of mine, and a longtime client. They have a company called TrimTab Solutions (www.trimtabsolutions.com) and they help businesses and people achieve clarity in all areas whether personal or corporate. They have been a great help for me for the past 20 or so years of my business.

It’s possible that Rick, Diane and I could come up with this all on our own.  We know our business and we know our markets. We understand all the changes taking place and even the direction to take. We have had several meeting and much discussion. However, we have come to realize that unless we set aside the time away from the office (or in our case, our offices) and away from computers, cell phones, iPads, etc., AND we have someone who is objective guiding us, asking us the hard questions, making us face each other…we won’t do it.

Do you do this with your businesses or your life?  Do you “step away” from the clutter ad busyness of the day-to-day to reflect on the direction you or your company is headed in? I am excited about the change in B&B…and I am very ready for more clarity so we can help our clients even more. I’d like to hear your stories…and I’ll update you on mine.

Leave a Reply

